Co-rounder of the Maureen Connolly Brinker Tennis Foundation and longtime chair of the U.S. Wightman and Federation Cups, Nancy Pearce Jeffett (b.1928) is considered one of the most influential women in tennis. Raised in St. Louis, Jeffett rose to No.10 in the junior ranks before entering Washington university. Her marriage to businessman Frank Jeffett in 1956 brought her to Dallas where she assumed a leadership role in the tennis community while raising her two children.

In 1968 Jeffett teamed with Grand Slam champion¬†‘Little Mo’ Connolly¬†to establish a tennis foundation, for which Jeffett took full responsibility following her friend’s untimely death from cancer. Over the next 30 years Jeffett created an organization that today sponsors a dozen major tournaments and has contributed more than $4 million for player development – from public parks to the professional level. Honored worldwide, Jeffett is celebrated in her hometown with the annual presentation of the Dallas Tennis Association’s Nancy Jeffett Lifetime Achievement Award.

Career Highlights

  • Ranked No.10 in USTA Girls’ 18 1946
  • USTA/Missouri Valley Singles, Doubles and Mixed Doubles Champion 1948
  • Founder, Tyler (Texas) Tennis Association 1954
  • Chairman, Texas Tennis Junior Development Program 1960-1982
  • Co-founder, Trustee and President, maureen Connolly Brinker (MCB) Tennis Foundation 1968 – present
  • Founder, MCB Outstanding Junior Girl Award, presented by the USTA 1969 – present
  • Founder, MCB Girls’ 14 national championship 1972 – present
  • Founder, Maureen Connolly Challenge Trophy (U.S. vs. Great Britain, ladies 19 and under) 1973 – present
  • Founder, Virginia Slims Tournament of Dalls 1975-1989 (began as MCB Memorial Tournament in 1970)
  • Founder, ITF Connolly Continental Cup (U.S. vs. all nations, ladies 18 and under) 1976 – present
  • Founder, Bonne Bell maureen Connolly Brinker Cup (U.S. vs. Australia, ladies 14, 16, 18) 1977-1991
  • Founder, ITF Maureen Connolly Cup (U.S. vs. all national, ladies 55 and over) 1992 – present
  • Member, USTA Executive Committee 1973-1994; Chair, Wightman Cup 1978-1990; Chair, Federation Cup 1981-1990; Member, ITF Federation Cup Committee 1988-1996
  • Director, International Tennis Hall of Fame 1976 – present (Honorary Life Director)
  • Winner of the USTA Service Bowl 1970
  • Texas Tennis Association W.T. Caswell Award 1970
  • ‘Service to Tennis’ Awards; World Championship Tennis 1983; Chuck McKinley 1993; International Tennis Federation 1994; Virginia Slims 1996
  • USTA Samuel hardy Award 1992; Dallas Tennis Association Lifetime Achievement Award 1995 (now named in her honor)
  • Girls, Inc. ‘She Knows Where She’s Going’ Award 1999
  • Inducted into the Texas Tennis Hall of Fame 1983; St. Louis Tennis Hall of Fame 1999