Begining her coaching career in the early years of women’s intercollegiate play, Virginia Mack (b.1924) worked tirelessly to promote the highest standards of competition. Mack came to Rollins College in 1962 originally to coach golf and took over the tennis program two years later. An exceptional student of the game, she developed her Lady Tars as the only Division I team at Rollins, garnering 11 top-five finishes in the nationals.

Twice named Coach of the Year by the Florida Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women, Mack attrivuted her success to a keen understanding of and respect for her players. She coached numerous future professionals including 1980 National Collegiate Champion Wendy White. In 1991 mack’s former players – returning thte admiration she felt for them – endowed a tennis scholarship at Rollins in her name.

Career Highlights

  • Led Rollins College team to 11 Top 5 finishes in Division I national intercollegiate competition from 1968 to 1983; 2nd-place finishes 1970-1971, 1977
  • 2-time champion AIAW Region III Tournament 1979, 1982
  • 4-time champion Southern Collegiate Invitational 1974, 1976, 1977, 1978
  • 12-time champion State of Florida Collegiate Tournament, Florida State University Invitational
  • Coached 16 future professionals including Rayni Fox, Girls’ 18 Singles Champion 1974; Mona Guerrant, ranked in USTA Top 10 1976; Nancy Yeargin, 2-time All American; Wendy Overton, ranked in USTA Top 10 1972-73, 1975
  • Tennis Chair, Florida AIAW 1977-1979
  • Member USTA Junior Federation Cup Advisory Committee 1979-1982
  • Women’s Collegiate Advisory Committee 1983-1985
  • Member, ITA Ranking Committee 1980-1982; ITA Women’s Hall of Fame Committee 1988-1997
  • Selected as a Top 10 Collegiate Tennis Coach by Tennis Week magazine 1978
  • Named Coach of the Year by the Florida AIAW 1980, 1982
  • vInducted into the Rollins College Sports Hall of Fame 1984
  • Awarded Associate Professor and Women’s Tennis Coach Emerita Status, Rollins College 1986
  • Ginny Mack Scholarship established by alumnae of the 1975 Rollins College team 1991